Announcing the 2015 Freedom Fund Honorees

On Wednesday, June 17, 2015 Brooklyn NAACP will be presenting our 2015 Freedom Fund Reception and Awards ceremony. The event will take place at Brooklyn Law School's Feil Hall located at 205 State Street, Brooklyn, NY, 11201. The evening begins with a VIP reception beginning at 5:30PM followed by the general reception and award programme at 7:00PM.

The Freedom Fund is our signature event that highlights and honors those in our community who's work and service embodies the mission of the NAACP. Our theme this year, “Committed to Stand for Justice”, is a reminder and an active declaration of our continued dedication and commitment to fighting for political, educational, social and economic equality.

Our 2015 Freedom Fund Awardees are:

President’s Award
Joy-Ann Reid, MSNBC National Correspondent

Freedom Star
Brooklyn District Attorney Kenneth Thompson and The Conviction Review Unit

Legal Leadership
Honorable L. Priscilla Hall
Associate Justice, New York Supreme Court, Appellate Division, Second Department

Leadership in Commerce & Industry
Carver Federal Savings Bank

Valiant Service
Akua Soadwa, Founder and Executive Director, Gye Nyame Empowerment Project

Daphnee Surpris, Owner, Vodou Bar

Member of the Year
Charles Hayden

For more information, tickets and journal or sponsorship information please visit us online at

Showing 3 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.


get updates